Introductions

I guess that I should introduce my gang of characters for this blog!

Lizzy's school 2014 243 copy

I am the middle child and I have an older sister and younger brother. We are all so different that it makes for some very interesting situations, but we all love each other and get along – most of the time!

I have a dog, cat, and three horses. Okay, I share the dog and cat, but the horses are mine! Right now we also have my grandpa’s dog with us, but more about him in another post!

boots and rain 113

Jesse, our dog is a 9 year old German Shepherd, black Lab cross. She is a sweet heart and I hope that we have her for many more years! She is a better “bird-dog” than anything else – but not a bird-dog in the general sense! She will let people and deer on our property all day long, but if one bird lands in our trees, it will wish it never had! She loves to chase birds!

birthday and frost 101 copy

Ella is our 8 year old cat and although she knows how to be a sweet heart, she typically chooses not to display it. In reality, she is a really nice cat – but because of an injury when she was a kitten, she does have good days and bad days. She is still a great mouser and loves to catch birds, though she has slowed down because of her age.

kayake, rainbow, and plants 032

Sugar is our 19 year old AQHA mare – and the easiest way to describe her is as a pain in the butt. But I wouldn’t trade her for any other horse in the world! She has taught me so much! She was trained as a cutting horse, but was a little too fast for people to stay on! She has since, been retired because of a back problem, but I still love to see her move out in the pasture and dream about how much fun it would be to ride her on a cow!

horse show (Logan) and around the house 112

Lightning is my 7 year old Welsh pony, AQHA cross and he is the biggest cutie in the whole wide world and I love him to death! He is my training/showing horse and he has been the most patient teacher I could have asked for. I have been riding him in english and western, and we do everything from cows and trail to jumping and dressage. He is the most willing partner that I have ever had!

Beau! 047

And last, but definitely not least, is Beau, my 3 month old AQHA colt. I have been exploring the wide world of baby horses since getting this little guy and I can’t be more excited to see where we will go and do together!

Now for my people side of things!

School photos Logan and Samantha 092 copy

My sister, Sam, is very patient with all of my crazy antics and is always a loyal supporter, but also my voice of reason. I would have gotten myself into a heap more trouble if it hadn’t been for her!

School photos Logan and Samantha 235 copy

My brother, Logan, is my side-kick and partner in crime all at the same time! He is always ready for a laugh or a joke, and will always have a song in his head that will come out only to get stuck in my head!

Extra animals Christmas 057

Mom and Dad are just as supportive as Sam and as involved as Logan in all of my craziness. I couldn’t ask for better parents! They have watched me fall down on my face, helped me up, brushed me off, and set me up for another round. I haven’t always listened to their excellent advice, but I have lived to learn from my mistakes and heed their wisdom!

So that is my family in a nut-shell – everyone from furry and four-legged to goofy and two-legged! We are all a great big family and love each other to the moon and back. It’s been crazy often, but we wouldn’t have it any other way!

To God be the glory,

~ Lizzy Lou

Leave a comment