Health check in and other news

It’s been a couple of weeks since I posted my note on what I’m planning on doing with my health recently, so I thought that I would check in and let you guys know how I’m doing!

First off, I’m going to start where I know that I have failed. I have completely and utterly fallen on my face with the whole “better sleeping schedule” thing. Because sleep is overrated when you are staying at a house-sitting job on the 4th of July and you have to get up at 5:30 or 6 AM and then work as a server and/or dish-washer from 4-9 PM (which really means 10) and people are putting off fireworks until 2. Getting off at 10ish puts you at your house-sitting job at around 10:30 or 11 depending on how long it takes to close, and I haven’t been getting to bed before midnight. Now it’s so much of a habit that I’m not even tired yet!

So, I guess to put it a different way – I have been failing. But!! I can always do better and I’m planning on working on that starting tonight! In bed before 12! I hope… As long as I can finish this post, I should be great! 😉

The other things that I have been doing have been working out pretty great actually. I finished the parasite cleanse and I definitely had a strong reaction to that, so I’m pretty positive that it has done it’s job! Yay! 🙂 Now, I’m about half way through my gut cleanse/rebalance and I have been seeing a huge level of settling where my gut is concerned. I have had a long time there where everything was just unhappy with me, and it has taken me going through this whole process to see just how unsettled everything was. If this is what a healthy gut should feel like, then I am all for it! 🙂

I’m still working towards getting on the Whole30 program after I’m done with my gut cleanse. Right now I have been working on trying to change my mindset towards certain foods and try to conquer my cravings a little bit at a time. So far, I have almost gotten my sugar cravings under control, but the one that I think I will have the most difficulty with is my grains/starches. I love bread, rice, beans, and potatoes, and today I caved because I was totally craving a piece of bread, so off to the sandwich shop we went! I am still really trying to get a handle on this because it is just an exercise in self-control, and if there is one thing that “Frog and Toad Together” taught me, it’s that self control is important! 😉

But in all seriousness, I am trying to have more self control because ultimately I know that as a Christian I need to live in such a way that I don’t let me body control and rule over me because that authority should be God’s over my heart, and I need to make sure that I’m focusing on doing this for His glory. I want to care for the body that He has given me and so I can’t and shouldn’t let my fleshly desires outweigh my desire to care for something He has entrusted me with.

I will keep you posted! To review so far, I feel like I have a happier gut, I’m getting a better eating schedule down, I’m starting to regulate my food intake, my energy levels are more even (even if there are just evenly low), and I will continue working on that sleeping schedule. Still praying that my body can be fully healed and recovered from the stresses I have put on it in the last several years!


In other news, I think that I have decided that I want to get a Canon 60D as my next camera. I have been looking at a couple of lenses, but that is still up in the air as I’m not really sure which direction I really want to go with that just yet. I had originally thought that I might like a zoom lens, but then I thought that I might like a lens that would be good for landscapes and backpacking, but *then* I thought that I might want a macro lens or a better portrait lens. I will keep you in the loop, but right now I think I’m leaning towards the landscape/backpacking one. More on that in a different post

Goodnight!
To God be the glory,
~ Lizzy Lou

Leave a comment