2017: The Year of “I’m Tired” and “Why Does That Hurt?”

As we approach a new year, I think that it is only fitting to reflect and catch you up on my year as a whole! So much has happened even in the last few months that I haven’t posted about, that I will have to force myself to be “half as long” about everything! πŸ˜‰ Let’s see how I do…

So, let’s start with the catching up, shall we? As you might now from some of my ancient posts, my sister Samantha got married to her beloved Chase on October 6th and it was simply delightful! I’m still waiting to get my hands on some of the official photos of the day so I will just say that I was able to finish Sam’s dress and my dress with hours to spare! πŸ˜‰ As soon as I get some really photos of the day, I will share a full post of everything with the highs and lows!

I finally got on my baby horse!!! πŸ˜€ I can’t believe it some days, but it really has happened! I have done about 20 days on him and we have even done a lesson with cows which he was really starting to get down and love doing! He has been so solid and thoughtful the whole time I have been working with him and he hasn’t had any major problems outside of the usually “I’m a baby horse that doesn’t know anything” stuff! Loving him and so incredibly excited to see where we go together!

Logan moved out and we went from 4 people in the house to having 2 which was a huge change for us to do! I haven’t had my own room in all 21 years that I have been alive until Sam left a couple months ago, and I still have times when I find it hard to think of the room as “my” room. The thing that hit we really hard recently was that I had to get a new calendar and we would always decide on one together, so when I picked one of the generic landscapes with Scripture ones I turned to Mom and asked if she thought that Sam would like it! Then it hit me that I could pick any calendar that I wanted – normally I would have thought that I would have been excited about that, but is was just kind of a sad moment. But I did get a really fun calendar! Logan called it “Zany Sayings From 2017 That Definitely Aren’t Going to be Dated in the Future” πŸ˜›

The holidays were an interesting event this year as we are still trying to get into the swing of having people scattered around, but I think overall they were really great! It’s hard to say that all change is good or easy, but I think that the changes that we have made in our holidays have been just that! I can’t really explain it much better than that, I’m afraid.

Logan got a job working in a much larger airport and he is thinking that he might have the opportunity to change companies and positions so that he can continue working towards a career in aviation! We are all so excited for him!

I have decided that I’m just going to stick with my current job situation for the time being, but I’m thinking about starting a little side business that utilizes my newest toy –

C1LP6367

I’m super excited, but I’m going to wait until I have something more tangible than an idea to share everything about it! πŸ˜‰ Stay tuned though! I am cooking up something really cool!

In addition to that, I have had a couple of photography gigs recently, which I was really excited to be a part of and I’m really happy with the outcome of both events! Here is just a snippet from both of them!

I guess we will see, but I have really enjoyed doing these events and I kind of hope that I can do more of them in the future! I know that I said that I was going to do a review of my new camera, but I think that the results (and the happiness of my clients) speaks for themselves! I will expand by saying that I LOVE it so, so, so much and I’m so happy that I bought it!! Now to get a camera bag that fits everything… πŸ˜‰

The weather outside has been frightful so far! πŸ˜‰ Well, not really that bad but we are definitely bracing ourselves for a pretty crazy winter. This weekend we are supposed to get another 10-12 inches of snow, so I’m planning on doing the whole “shovel snow to make room for more snow” outing today. Yay… πŸ˜‰ We have had to bring in the dogs because of the snow and the cold (yesterday is the first day in a week or so that it was in the double digits!) which has been a chore as Jesse is a shorter haired dog that gets cold really easily and Dusty has 7 different layers of fluff! If you bring Jesse in all by herself Dusty just cries and complains for hours, but he sweats in the garage when we bring him in! Silly dogs…Still love them!

I guess to wrap up, this year has been a year of a lot of change – most of it hard and unpleasant – but it has been good. We change, we grow, we learn. I have struggled with my health, relationships, and just dealing with life in general, but I know I have learned valuable lessons in the last year that I will keep with me for the rest of my life, and I’m really excited to see where the Lord takes me in the year to come!

With that, I will say a very Merry Christmas to all of you (because technically we are still in the Christmas season!) and a blessed, happy New Year!! πŸ˜€

To God be the glory,
~ Lizzy Lou

Leave a comment